The Mental Health Council of Tasmania (MHCT) is a member based peak body. We represent and promote the interests of community managed mental health services and have a strong commitment to enabling better access and outcomes for every Tasmanian.



Debbie Evans

Debbie is currently the CEO of Lifeline Tasmania and has over 20 years working as a senior manager and leader in the relationship support and mental health sector. Debbie has demonstrated experience in working with government, funding bodies and partnerships within the community sector. Debbie is a  registered psychologist and accredited counsellor and has extensive knowledge of the issues faced by clients with a mental health issue and those who care for them. Debbie brings over 20 years’ experience reporting to Boards and is currently the Vice Chair of the TasCOSS board. Debbie also sits on our Governance Sub-Committee.


Board Member
Jules Carroll

Jules Carroll is employed as Director of Early Intervention Services with Relationships Australia Tasmania. She has responsibility for a broad range of programs across the state, including mental health services, suicide prevention, Partners in Recovery, counselling and adult support services. Jules is Deputy Chair of the Tasmanian Suicide Prevention Network, and previously served on the Board of the Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs Council of Tasmania, and Service Tasmania. Jules had an extensive career in the State and Federal public services in the education field, with twelve years of experience at senior management level, prior to moving to the not-for-profit sector. Jules sits on our Governance Sub-Committee.


Board Member
Lance Skelton

Before joining the board at MHCT in 2016, Lance served on the National Board of Grow for four years, which is a not-for-profit peer support organisation working in mental health. In early 2015, Lance moved to Hobart. He works as a branding consultant, and in January 2018 celebrated his 10th year as the Strategic and Creative Director at Freelance Skelton. Lance has been in the advertising industry for over 25 years, working at multi-national agencies in Perth, Singapore, Scotland and Malaysia, and winning over 20 local, national and international advertising awards across TV, radio, press, outdoor advertising and direct mail.


Darren Pullen

Darren worked in various community health sectors, including palliative care and disability before transitioning into University role. He is the recipient of several University research and teaching awards, including a Vice Chancellor’s Citation for teaching excellence and awards for outstanding contributions to research. Recently awarded a prestigious Australian Government Department of Education and Training Citation for enhanced and continued excellence in Tertiary education. Darren’s voluntary contribution to the community spans many years and includes past roles such as being the President of an independent school P&F and parent representative on a childcare committee. Currently on a Board of Governance for a State-wide not-for-profit childcare NGO, volunteer fire fighter/Brigade Treasurer, Justice of the Peace, and committee member of The Honorary Justices’ Association of Tasmania Inc. With formal qualifications in health, education, administration, technology and a research PhD Darren brings a strong education, research, governance and service philosophy to the MHCT Board.  Darren sits on our Audit and Risk Sub-Committee.


Board Member
David Tilley

David is currently a Senior Investigator with the Department of Premier and Cabinet. He has a diverse career history, including as a Policy Analyst, Policy Officer, Police Officer and Business Support Officer for a government focused enterprise. David graduated from the University of Tasmania in 2013 with a Bachelor of Arts and Laws. David has recently graduated from the College of Law with a Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice.